Pet Nutritionist Ranks Cat Food Best to Worst | Cat Food Reviews List of raw wet and kibble brands

This cat food reviews list is based on AAFCO guidelines and definitions. And the RFVS gold standard diet: fresh, whole, raw.

The ideal diet is whole prey. This is what mother nature intended. And the only food we’ve known wild cats to eat for THOUSANDS of years.

Did you know that processed wet and dry foods have only been around for about 100 years?

The gold standard diet is as close as possible to the whole prey diet.

The closer you get your cat to that, the better!

DISCLAIMER: Nothing I say is medical advice. You (and only you) are responsible for your cat. I earn a commission through affiliate links below. No additional cost to you.

This cat food reviews list is ranked by category best to worst AND within each category best to worst.

For example, the first category is whole prey. That is the most ideal diet.

The second category is raw food premixes. Homemade balanced raw is second best.

Each row within the category is ranked as well.

✅ BEST VIEWED ON DESKTOP ✅
Cat food reviews list

Cat Food Reviews

Use the magnifying glass on the top right of the table to search brand names.

Is there a brand you’d like me to add? Comment below!

Ratings are out of 10. Even though my rating score for pet food is out of 20. 10 is the highest this table goes.

I use my cat food label cheat sheets to rate cat food.

The ratings are based on:
1- AAFCO product name rules
2- Worst ingredients list
3- Approx carb amount, dry matter basis

Cat food label cheat sheets
https://mailchi.mp/b195199befa6/cat-food-label-cheat-sheet

🥩 BEST OF THE BEST 🥩
Whole prey
https://www.rodentpro.com/

Homemade raw
https://hare-today.com/referral?id=0846631

Complete raw
https://shrsl.com/2hvvb

Freeze-dried raw
https://amzn.to/2VC1Opw (amazon)
https://prf.hn/l/7xNdj9N (chewy)

Wet
https://shrsl.com/2tfgi (for ADULTS only)
https://amzn.to/2PbXrOu

Dry
https://amzn.to/31VbjRM (amazon)
https://prf.hn/l/KN8wj5L (chewy)

You may notice that all wet foods are above all dry foods even though some dry foods have a better rating than some wet.

This is because ANY wet food is better than ALL dry foods.

Cats rely on food for moisture. So it is much better to feed any type of wet food because it has an appropriate moisture content.

Think your cat drinks plenty of water? Think again.

Dry food only provides about 6% of daily water requirements.

The average cat eating dry food only would have to consume about 8 ounces of water DAILY just to stay hydrated.

Work your way up this list to feed the best possible diet you can.

TRANSITION CAT FOOD SLOWLY!!

Or you will make your cat sick.

Do the best you can without stressing. It’s perfectly fine to mix and match and feed different brands and proteins.

Just focus on one change at a time.

Plan a few months to a year AT LEAST to get your cat onto better quality food.

Be patient and work with your cat! The dedication is worth it 😻

🎥 WATCH NEXT 🎥
Cat food REVIEWS playlist

How to SWITCH cat food

Cat/kitten food FAQs

MOISTURE for cats

✅ RESOURCES ✅
Cat food label guide

Cat Food Label Guide [How to Read and Ingredients to Avoid]

RFVS gold standard diet

Cat food reviews list

Cat Food Reviews

WORST ingredients
https://www.drkruger.com/blogs/blog/worst-pet-food-ingredients

▶️ SUBSCRIBE
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC7A8_WVCRSgDX_uh2jmEP8g?sub_confirmation=1

👕MERCH
https://jesscaticles.threadless.com/

📕 Switch to RAW ebook
https://www.etsy.com/listing/977150085/switch-your-cat-to-raw-ebook-course

📝 CAT CARE PRINTABLES
https://www.etsy.com/shop/JessCaticles

😽 MY TOP PICKS

Cat Supplies: My Top Picks

😺 MEWSLETTER

Caticles Mewsletter Free Indoor Cat Happiness Resources

🙏 Connect with me

Hey friends!


https://www.instagram.com/jesscaticles/
https://www.pinterest.com/JessCaticles/_created/

🎵 ORIGINAL MUSIC BY
https://www.twitch.tv/johnsektr

#catcare #catfood #catfoodreviews #catnutrition #catnutritionist #jesscaticles

⏰ Chapters:
0:00 Gold standard diet
0:47 Cat food reviews list
1:00 Cat food label cheat sheet
1:40 Reviews list best to worst
2:35 How to use cat food reviews list
3:39 Best cat food
5:31 Worst cat food
5:55 Cat food ratings
6:38 Search cat food list

50 Comments

  1. Krimson Rose on December 11, 2021 at 9:28 am

    I’m reading the reviews on the foods you have recommended and some have made cats very sick with bladder crystals and I’m over here panicking a bit to even attempt to give any of these to my own 3 cats. 😫

  2. Demarcus Johnson on December 11, 2021 at 9:28 am

    A live a busy lifestyle in the military so far off your list the fastest for me to do would be the “Honest brand that i just add water pls let me know if I can do anything faster snd better I also have very limited Freezer space*

  3. Boringbobtail on December 11, 2021 at 9:29 am

    Trying Stella & Chewy from Fancy Feast❤️😸thank U 4the info/insight!

  4. Sacco Nazloomian on December 11, 2021 at 9:29 am

    Will the cats eat the frozen mice?

  5. ladybugsy M on December 11, 2021 at 9:30 am

    I want to feed my cats dry food for one meal and canned for another. How much should I feed them? How do I calculate that?

    Is it safe to feed my cat lunch meat? Turkey or chicken? How about some leftover turkey or chicken?

  6. 4spurta on December 11, 2021 at 9:31 am

    Misleading..you didn’t review the brands just the kind of food .

  7. DieselTrucker 2018 on December 11, 2021 at 9:32 am

    I just purchased Tiki Cat moist and dry food. He does NOT like it as much as Fancy Feast… but I have several boxes of Fancy Feast moist and I will feed it rotating between Tiki Cat until it is gone and then that will be it for FF. Tiki moist is very expensive! 24 cans $50 + Tx at PetSmart.

  8. Anish Jha on December 11, 2021 at 9:32 am

    Could you also rate Whiskas wet food and Purina friskies dry?

  9. carlita richardson on December 11, 2021 at 9:34 am

    That raspy voice is too hoarse. Unpleasant. But great info.

  10. J Y on December 11, 2021 at 9:35 am

    Very educational and helpful. Please review KIWI canned cat food. Thank you.

  11. Mae Borowski on December 11, 2021 at 9:37 am

    What do I do for my cat who legitimately won’t eat wet food? Is it fine to just settle for a wet food or is there some way to get her to eat a wet one?

  12. Glenn Siegel on December 11, 2021 at 9:39 am

    Great content and thank you for the work you put into all of this. As I try to feed raw to my Maine Coons and only use dry as a filler in between meals I’d would like to see another column for dry saying this is the worst. I understand you explained that in your video but not everyone listens to everything. Again thank you for your work!!

  13. Larisa Grushin on December 11, 2021 at 9:40 am

    Hi Jess – I am so glad I found your page, the content is super helpful to first-time can owners like me! I am getting a 4 month Siberian kitten in Dec and I am researching healthy food options for him. He is currently on unlimited dry food and 2x/day raw food at the breeder’s house. Here is what I am thinking of doing at first to keep his diet similar to what he is used to (but hopefully healthier): unlimited Ziwi Peak dry food and Darwin’s Frozen Raw food 2x/day. Do I need to add any supplements to this diet? Anything else I should keep in mind with this diet? Thank you so much!

  14. stitchergary on December 11, 2021 at 9:41 am

    My 2 cats and I share a can of sardines each day…hope that is ok…thanks for the video

  15. Edwin Parada on December 11, 2021 at 9:42 am

    Hi, what do you think about Instinct cat food brand?

  16. Kimberly Patton on December 11, 2021 at 9:42 am

    Thanks Jess,I have found the answers to my questions…

  17. Roger Larson on December 11, 2021 at 9:42 am

    Perhaps I am not looking well enough but why do I see so few fish based foods?

  18. Jake on December 11, 2021 at 9:43 am

    Jericho was being a little brat in this video 😂

  19. Denis Prieur on December 11, 2021 at 9:43 am

    You should drink some water before recording! Your voice has many skip sound!

  20. Remulac 66 on December 11, 2021 at 9:45 am

    Hi guys 😺 I was researching a brand called reveal cat food it sounds pretty promising, want to know what you think if you have time, thank you for all you videos 😻 very educational I had no clue I was slowly killing my cat ill soon replace his food for the ones you recommended 😊

  21. IceRiver1020 on December 11, 2021 at 9:45 am

    I didn’t see Rachel Ray’s cat foods on the list! I’ve been switching my cats from Blue Wilderness to Rachel Ray’s wet food brand, and I’m very interested in seeing how it compares to other wet foods. It’s the only wet food that my senior has even been willing to touch, and she just loves it. It actually smells like food, and I can see the meat in it, which is a lot better than I can say for any other wet food we’ve tried, but I don’t know half as much as you do about cat nutrition and I would like to see how you rate it.

  22. kat on December 11, 2021 at 9:46 am

    i’m from Europe and the cat food that is mostly available is Purina, Hill’s, Royal Canin etc., basically all the worst brands. there’s a few different ones though, which are: Miamor, JosiCat, Rasco, Josera, Ontario, Brit Premium, Animonda VomFeinsten, Araton, Kis-Kis Grain Free, Aatas Cat, Benek Pouches, GimCat, Schmusy, Athena, Trixie and at last Carnilove. i think i mentioned every brand besides the worst ones. i can’t feed raw completely, maybe only in small amounts, because i live with my parents and it wouldn’t be allowed. i’d really like to hear your opinion on which is the best, since i’ll be getting a cat in a few weeks time, so i’m really hoping you reply.

  23. Chaya Staub-Krell on December 11, 2021 at 9:47 am

    Thank you for these instructions! I’m a new subscriber; just found you today!
    I have four very picky cats. For financial reasons, I have them on a half wet/half dry food diet but I know this is not ideal. Actually, one of my cats currently eats only dry. Her choice, not mine 🤷‍♀️. I appreciate the info on trying air dried food if your cat is eating dry food now. I also love ❤ your 20 day transition instructions! That will make it so much easier when, as I continue my research and choose the next food making the journey to the best I can afford, I try to transition them (again). Is it normal to feel like you’re spinning in circles researching cat foods until you can decide on which food you think is better? Only to find out, no, still not good enough?

  24. Wade Jacobs on December 11, 2021 at 9:50 am

    That list is nice but not all of us can do raw even if it is the best. Are there no good cat foods then?

  25. Diana Riglet on December 11, 2021 at 9:52 am

    Jess, I looked at your food reviewes spreadsheet and it was super informative. Thank you! P.S. I LOVE Jericho! He’s super handsome!!

  26. Euphonia Hale on December 11, 2021 at 9:54 am

    My cat likes cooked meat 🍖

  27. twistedxvengeance on December 11, 2021 at 9:55 am

    I knew the basics but this went really in depth for me, really glad I found your videos. Even happier that my brand is on your list 🙂

  28. Zachary Carroll on December 11, 2021 at 9:56 am

    So you’re not a board certified veterinarian nutritionist?

  29. HardluckHarry on December 11, 2021 at 9:56 am

    Can you review I and Love and you? My older cat had urinary chrystals about 5 years ago. $3000 later and he is still with us. Vet put him on SO prescription but he is rail thin. Vet doesn’t seem to think this is a problem. Coat is dull and he is listless. I think it’s the food. Moved him to I and Love And you wet. He ate it immediately but he always cries for more food. I throw in a few of the SO pieces of hard food. I also make Lifesabundance hard food available.

  30. Jess CATicles on December 11, 2021 at 9:56 am

    Best of the best in the description!
    🥩 Reviews LIST: https://www.caticles.com/cat-food-reviews/
    ✅ How to SWITCH food: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jVVgW16sDz8&t
    ⏰ Chapters:
    0:00 Gold standard diet
    0:47 Cat food reviews list
    1:00 Cat food label cheat sheet
    1:40 Reviews list best to worst
    2:35 How to use cat food reviews list
    3:39 Best cat food
    5:31 Worst cat food
    5:55 Cat food ratings
    6:38 Search cat food list

  31. HappyGorgeousLife on December 11, 2021 at 9:57 am

    Wow. Jess. I just first want to say THANK YOU. I feel like you are heaven sent at this moment in our lives. I literally just found your videos yesterday. Let me explain.
    Our 8 month old kitten Gracie is at home recovering from FIP, which is hell, as you probably know. She was a neuro case, so she was losing her ability to walk, BUT now that she’s on treatment, she is back to her old feisty self! It’s so important to give her the best, and before this, I thought I was!
    I was one of those people that saw that if “chicken” was the first ingredient then it’s quality. BOY was I wrong. Our Gracie has been getting blue mountain and Tiki cat wet food pretty much exclusively for the last 16 days, since in her treatment, it’s easier to mash her medicines in it.
    But now?! I’m so happy I now know what crap we have been feeding her. I am making the switches slowly and will start today.
    Thank you 😊 ❤️

  32. Tadanielle on December 11, 2021 at 9:57 am

    Ew

  33. Sarah Sault on December 11, 2021 at 9:58 am

    My sweetheart is hesitant around wet food. She’ll eat it, but always leaves half of it unfinished. 2tsp-a tsp still there. More expensive cat foods she hates and-well, 1 time 4 days not eating. I have a feeling before I got my now 3yr old she had been neglected by a woman who cannot move around much and abused by a male. She was awfully well trained-she is terrified of most human food even fish and meat. I even tried to tempt her with broth. So, I’m stuck with Meow Mix and Purina indoor cat. Oh, and if she kills something she never eats it.

  34. M B on December 11, 2021 at 9:58 am

    Definitely need a bit of help on what foods to find for my cat…. my vets are amazing great.. but they don’t have education regarding foods.. they always recommend hills and royal canin.. my cat Zuri either had bad reactions with royal canin or he didn’t like it at all… i tried with healier options doing some searching.. for example the tiki cat dry food messed him up that his blood levels changed and he refused to eat for 3 days, Despite a very slow transition. He went back to normal when just going on Purina the vet gave me to get him eating again. ATM he’s does way better having better regular stools on the Hills gastrointestinal Biome diet. But I found he seems to gain more weight being on this food. And of course I’m out of options with my vet when it comes to food choices… I tried Zuri On Orijen dry food. But he started puking it up on day 3. (Still slow transition) and I was afraid he was going to have the same reaction as the Tiki cat incident. I have a dissability, and due to Zuris food issues.. I don’t feel comfortable with A Raw diet and still want to find the other better options for him… but it’s been quite a long ride spending money trying to figure out what’s going to work for him. I wish the food industry gave us help for pet parents instead of having over 300 brand companies out there.

  35. Ann Smedes on December 11, 2021 at 9:59 am

    I would like a review on cats foods and phosphorus levels..💜

  36. Nurul Atiqah on December 11, 2021 at 10:02 am

    hi may i know your thoughts on burgess british family company brand?

  37. Jaison Jay on December 11, 2021 at 10:06 am

    Thank You

  38. Cameo Deighton on December 11, 2021 at 10:07 am

    Jess i am really wanting to switch over my kitty bb to a healthier diet. Im not really sure how to start and it honestly all seems so overwhelming to me. Not to mention i dont have alot of money. Currently bb is eating a veterinary diet of hills science diet hydrolyzed protein dry kibble along with the matching wet food. I ordered the ziwi peak air dried beef flavor kibble and the lamb and maceral wet food ad started with just giving her a couple pieces of the air dried food with her current kibble and a few hours later she was vomiting this was 3 days in a row this occurred so i stopped with the dry ziwi peak and returned it. I feel really discouraged . Do you have any advice for what i should do??? Also bb is pretty over weight, I just want to provide the best possible food and quality of life for her as possible as shes my world and id die without her. Please help!

  39. Floresdilia Martinez on December 11, 2021 at 10:07 am

    I’ve seen a lot of the pet foods listed there that are supposed to be phenomenally better than the majority of the brands that are technically sold in Walmart. But my question is is that what do you recommend for people of low income who might not be able to shell out 30 or $40 for a 5 lb bag of food. I mean I have a cat but me being of such little income I might not be able to get them any better food and what they have now without being able to pay my own bills.

  40. John Kelley Brown on December 11, 2021 at 10:08 am

    We learned the hard way about dry cat food. Our cat Elvis’ urinary tract became obstructed, the vet said it was because he wasn’t drinking enough from his water bowl and didn’t have enough water in his system to flush out the blockage. After many operations and almost $10,000 later, Elvis if fine. We’ve switched all three of our cats to Fancy Feast and we follow the vets advice to mix water into the wet food. We will look at the foods you are reviewing and may find ways to feed them better. Thanks!

  41. Faiza Anjum on December 11, 2021 at 10:08 am

    How would I go about transitioning my cat from her usual wet and dry food diet, to just wet of another brand? I use ziwi peak air dried mixed with a bit of BFF wet food since she doesn’t like ziwi unless it’s mixed with her wet food. This is honestly breaking my bank and want to only use feline wet food. Should I take away ziwi right away and focus on transitioning just her wet food?

  42. akm on December 11, 2021 at 10:10 am

    sucks to live in a 3rd world country where we only have access to either dry or canned food

  43. Connie on December 11, 2021 at 10:11 am

    Thanks for this video! You are helping a ton of cat owners out here <3

  44. izzie on December 11, 2021 at 10:11 am

    Useful info; but your articulation in the voice over is not good. Maybe a little slower would help.

  45. Demarcus Johnson on December 11, 2021 at 10:14 am

    What Do we feed kittens Jess for best nutrition?

  46. Linda Wilson on December 11, 2021 at 10:15 am

    Does anyone mix brands? My cat eats weruva. It’s wet only that’s all they make and there is a variety of meats and fish. But I would like to offer dry once in awhile as a treat. I will look at your list thank you.

  47. Nellie Sarlouis on December 11, 2021 at 10:17 am

    Did you have Iams cat food on there?

  48. Carin Wiseman on December 11, 2021 at 10:18 am

    Why is it that when I fork over the money to buy my cats much better food, they won’t touch any of it, even when I try for a long time. They seem to hate better food. I should say that my cats are allowed outside during the day, so get some level of natural food too.

  49. Drian Von Golden on December 11, 2021 at 10:21 am

    Great content, I’ve been working on switching my cat from his preferred kibble with very little success. So many varieties of wet food I’ve tried he rejects. He motions that he is simulating covering his food as if it’s covering up his ‘litter’. I smell the products and they don’t smell natural. So many suck, but you’ve illuminated the truth that they mainly come from the same source manufacturer, my cat is a great judge of what’s not healthy for him.

  50. Ello Betches on December 11, 2021 at 10:23 am

    I am wondering if you’re familiar with the farmina brand of cat food? I need to grab the bag and read the ingredients. My cat eats boar and apple, venison and pumpkin, duck and cantaloup, lamb and blueberry. From my understanding it is an Italian brand with more strict regulations. Its 97% animal protein. Single animal protein? Pretty sure. Its highly recommended from a local chuck and dons pet store where they do not sell 💩 brand foods for cats and dogs. I have done the Stella and chewy frozen raw and freeze dried raw rabbit and duck. My cat isn’t a fan of the freeze fried and the raw seems to get freezer burn easily. I use tiki after dark right now for wet. My cat has colitis after being treated way too long for parasites. He poops blood. We are working with a vet and the probiotic really helps his stools. But the vet recommended hills prescription and I ignored him. I am looking for a holistic vert for nutrition now. I like our current vet for everything but the food.

Leave a Comment